Watch: India's devastating loss in the 2023 Cricket World Cup final, Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Siraj are in tears

IND vs AUS, ICC World Cup 2023 Final: Mohammed Siraj, Rohit Sharma In Tears After India Lost To Australia By 6 Wickets

At Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday, Australia defeated India by seven wickets to win their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup. Travis Head's brilliant century proved to be the difference. Official World Cup victories for Australia occurred in the 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, 2010s, and 2020s. India's ten-year drought for a significant ICC Trophy is still ongoing after they lost in the championship match despite making it to the semifinals. Men in Blue began their pursuit of 241 with a costly over from Jasprit Bumrah, who was hit for 15 runs, including three fours.Furthermore, on the first ball itself, a catch was overlooked. However, Mohammed Shami struck in his opening over, dismissing David Warner for just seven runs, making up for Virat Kohli's mistake, who had failed to make the catch in the opening over. In just 1.1 overs, India was 16/1.

Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma in tears after the World Cup Final


The next batter up was Mitchell Marsh. He showed some offensive intent with a few huge smashes, but wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul caught him behind, and Jasprit Bumrah (Net Worth) dismissed him for 15. In 4.3 overs, Australia was 41/2 up.

Australia's top hitter, Steve Smith, was caught leg-before-wicket for four runs. Australia finished seven overs at 47/3.

Australia was 60/3 at the completion of the first 10 overs of the powerplay.

In 19.1 overs, Australia hit the 100-run milestone.

Nothing hurts more than seeing Rohit Sharma cry once more following the 2019 World Cup!

Travis scored six fours and a six to achieve his half-century in 58 balls. Marnus Labuschagne, on the other hand, supported Head and continued the strike rotation.

Australia continued to advance toward victory, reaching 150 runs in 27.1 overs.

Travis once again demonstrated his ability to play on large stages by reaching his century in 95 balls while hitting 14 fours and three sixes.

Australia's genius was simply too much for India to handle as the five-time winners scored 200 runs in 36.3 overs.

In 99 balls and three fours, Labuschagne got his fifty, his third of the tournament.

Head was set to chase down the winning runs when Gill caught him for 137 from 120 balls, including four sixes and fifteen fours. Australia finished 42.5 overs at 239/4.

With seven overs and six wickets remaining, Glenn Maxwell scored the winning runs to help Australia win their sixth World Cup.

Shami claimed one wicket, while Bumrah claimed two. Siraj also claimed a wicket.

India defeated Australia by 240 runs because to the tenacious half-centuries of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli in the ICC World Cup 2023 final on Sunday at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium.

After pacers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Pat Cummins rattled the backbone of the Indian batting lineups early in the innings, Australia produced a breathtaking exhibition of tight and aggressive bowling to bowl out the country for 240 runs.

Rahul amassed the highest score for India with 66 runs off 107 deliveries, while Kohli contributed a brilliant 54 runs after Rohit Sharma's 47-run innings laid a strong foundation for his side.

Rohit, who was placed to bat first, got off to a quick start, smashing four and six in the first over and another four and six in the fourth. Mitchell Starc removed Shubman Gill for four runs in the fifth over, even though Josh Hazlewood was under duress. Gill's tenure at the crease came to an end with an ill-advised front foot pull.

As Virat Kohli started to target Starc early on and smashed a hat-trick of fours, the torrent of runs persisted. However, close to the conclusion of the first powerplay, India's aggressive streak was again broken. After Rohit misplayed the ball towards the off-side, Travis Head sprang back from the covers and managed to hold on to an amazing stunner.

Shreyas Iyer, an aggressive batsman, was removed shortly after the opening Powerplay after nicking one behind the wicket. The boundaries dried up even as India made an effort to rebuild itself after the initial blows.

KL, the wicketkeeper-batter India's batting order continues to be reorganized by Rahul and Kohli. In an attempt to make a breakthrough, Pat Cummins continued switching bowlers, but India managed to reach the halfway point of the innings without losing any more wickets. Following Kohli's sixth successive fifty in the present World Cup, India seemed to be gathering steam.

Australia's Cummins struck again, this time against well-established batsman Kohli with a short ball. With a total of 765 runs, the 36-year-old concluded his ODI World Cup 2023 trip with the most runs scored by a batter in a single edition of the famous competition.

India went back into defensive mode after this defeat. To start the left-right combination, Ravindra Jadeja batted at number six instead of Suryakumar Yadav and was happy to smack the ball around the field with Rahul. Rahul, the wicketkeeper-battler, got his fifty in the thirty-fiveth over.The surface provided more assistance to Australia's pacers as the ball began to swing in the opposite direction. In the 37th over, Josh Hazlewood got Jadeja to nick one behind the wicket. India scored 200 runs in the forty-first over.

But the wickets kept coming, and Adam Zampa, who finished with 1/44 from 10 overs, caught Jasprit Bumrah in front to make him the next victim.

And when Hazlewood dismissed Suryakumar Yadav in the 47th over, the crowd went hushed.

India was bowled out for 240 in 50 overs after losing the wickets of Rahul (66), Mohammed Shami (6), Jasprit Bumrah (1), and Suryakumar Yadav (18) in rapid succession.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.